Blog Your Novel Month (BlogYoNoMo)

www.inkthinkerblog.com — In the tradition of NaNoWriMo, BlogYoNoMo is going to kick off on October 1. As mentioned by Medardo Manrique, Jr., who created the post proposing this idea, it’s been done. But the goal is to make BlogYoNoMo a separate entity from NaNoWriMo, which takes place in November.

Aside from the suggestion that perhaps distancing it further chronologically from NaNoWriMo would further delineate the two events as separate entities, I’m wondering how you feel about this. I’m a little uncomfortable with it myself. Yes, anything you write is protected by copyright as soon as you put it in any fixed format, electronic included, but publishing your entire novel on your blog seems like, well, maybe a bad idea. I’m not one of those fanatic anti-free-access people, but as a writer who would like to publish my novel through commercial channels, I would be very reluctant to make the whole thing publicly available prior to commercial publication. Doesn’t that kind of kill the whole first rights thing? Yeah, it does. Some publishers won’t care, but I don’t want to take that risk.

I welcome your comments!

__________________________________________
www.kristenkingfreelancing.com
Finalist in 2006 Writer’s Digest Best Writer’s Website Contest

Contents Copyright © 2006-2014 Kristen King

2 comments… add one
  • Aug 27, 2006

    I’m against posting one’s work on forums or blogs — anything more than a sentence or two.

    First of all, people tend to blog early drafts and the work is still too embroyonic to throw out into the world.

    Second, some publications consider it as being published and you shoot yourself in the foot.

    Third, don’t you want people to read your work as the best it can be, after revisions and edits, when it’s published? I sure do.

    I talk a lot about what I’m writing, but I don’t actually post the pieces themselves.

  • Aug 28, 2006

    Sometimes my blog acts as the germ of other work, but I agree with you, I would never publish a commercial work in its entirety online or elsewhere right before debuting it commercially.

Leave a Comment

Cancel